Watershed districts are governed by a board of managers appointed by their respective counties. Roughly 60% of the Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District (CLFLWD) is in Washington County and 40% is in Chisago County. As such, three managers are appointed by Washington County and two managers are appointed by Chisago County. The term of office is three years.

Stephen Schmaltz


Representative County: Washington | Term Expires: 9-23-2026

Manager Steve Schmaltz has an educational background in engineering and business with 35 years of industrial work experience. He has been a resident of Forest Lake since 2002 and a manager on the Watershed board since 2013 when his concern over frequent algae blooms and other water quality issues on local lakes led him to take action. Steve is committed to the belief that clean water resources are a community right and responsibility that are best achieved through the actions of local partners working together. He uses his experience to promote the use of cost/benefit decision making when it comes to the protection and improvement of local water resources.

Christopher Loth

Vice President

Representative County: Washington | Term Expires: 9-23-2025

Joining the Watershed Board in August 2021, Manager Christopher Loth holds a B.A. in Chemistry from St John’s University (Collegeville, MN) and a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of MN Institute of Technology. In 2017, after spending 12 years as a Technical Sales Engineer specializing in water treatment in the Commercial, Institutional, and Process Industries, he left water treatment to work at his family’s entertainment center, leading the sales and marketing efforts. Since 2019 he has volunteered on the Board of the Forest Lake Lake Association.

Jackie Anderson


Representative County: Chisago | Term Expires: 09-23-2026

Manager Jackie Anderson joined the Watershed Board in 2002, and was instrumental in the founding of the District. She is a resident of Chisago County, residing in the Comfort Lake Management District. She has served in all positions on the board.

Douglas Toavs

Assistant Treasurer

Representative County: Chisago | Term Expires: 9-23-2024

Manager Douglas Toavs has a professional background in agriculture, education, fundraising and technology. He has lived in the Chisago City area for 18 years on Moody Lake. Doug began volunteering with the Watershed District over a decade ago as a citizen scientist collecting water samples. He joined the Board in 2021 and has been utilizing his broad background of experiences to help guide the District in making the best financial decisions for both area taxpayers and local water resources.

Dave Bakke


Representative County: Washington | Term Expires: 9-23-2024

Manager Dave Bakke has worked in public education for over 40 years teaching students from kindergarten to college and facilitating teacher professional development. Dave completed undergraduate degrees from Bemidji State University, Macalester College, Hamline University and a Master of Education degree from the University of Minnesota. He serves on the board of the Bone Lake Association and was previously the president of the Lake Association. He joined the CLFLWD Board of Managers in September of 2021.